How i long to be a poet

How I long to be a poet

How I long to be a poet
Well, I guess I am, between you and me,
But I wonder if there’ll be a day
when anyone else will want to see.

I write about anything and everything
about life, my friends, my son,
I like to add my humour
and have a bit of fun.

I’m a woman of 37
and have issues I can share,
from food intolerance to parenting,
or the annoyance of leg hair.

Whatever brings a smile,
a chuckle, snigger or a snort,
We need more things to laugh at
As life is far too short.

Inspired by Pam Ayres
She’s a genius with a rhyme
‘They should’ve asked my husband’
Is an old favourite of mine.

There are many poets out there
why can’t one of them be me?
I’ve never had much confidence
it’s always, maybe one day – we’ll see.

But maybe now’s the time to take the plunge,
See if my words can get a laugh
Or, ‘Here lies the secret poet’
Will be on my epitaph.

Oh how I long to be a poet
Well, I guess I am, between you and me,
I wonder if there’ll be a day
when anyone else will want to see.

Leave a Reply

